Providence Water, although a department of the City of Providence, is regulated by state and federal agencies in addition to city policies and procedures. The quality of our treated drinking water is regulated by the US Environmental Protection Agency and the Rhode Island Department of Health. Our revenue and rate structure is regulated by the Rhode Island Public Utilities Commission.

Your browser is out of date, please upgrade to a newer version of Internet Explorer to properly enjoy our website.
Online Bill Pay will be unavailable to you, due to circumstances beyond our control, until you upgrade your browser.
We apologize for the inconvenience.

Contact Us

Phones

Customer ServiceTo speak to a representative regarding questions
on your water bill, questions regarding title requests
for an upcoming closing, or to make a payment

(401) 521-5070

billing@provwater.com

To Pay by Phone

(866) 889-2683

Emergency Line (24x7)

(401) 521-6300  Opt. 1

Water Main Improvements HotlineGeneral construction questions in your area

(401) 521-6303 (8:30am-4:00pm)
(401) 952-6535 (After Hours)
wmr@provwater.com

Water Quality Hotline Discolored water and water pressure issues

(401) 521-6300 Opt. 4

Offices

Main BuildingAdministration and Customer Service.

552 Academy Avenue
Providence, RI 02908
Directions

Cranston Office Purchasing, Finance, and Engineering.

430 Scituate Avenue
Cranston, RI 02920
Directions

Purification Plant Philip J. Holton Water Purification Works

61 N. Road (Route 116)
Hope RI, 02831
Directions

Hours

Day Regular Hours Summer Hours (July & August)
Sunday Closed Closed
Monday 8:30am - 4:30pm 8:30am - 4:00pm
Tuesday 8:30am - 4:30pm 8:30am - 4:00pm
Wednesday 8:30am - 4:30pm 8:30am - 4:00pm
Thursday 8:30am - 4:30pm 8:30am - 4:00pm
Friday 8:30am - 4:30pm 8:30am - 4:00pm
Saturday Closed Closed

Holiday Hours

Date Holiday Hours
01/02/2017 Monday New Year's Day (Observed) Closed
01/16/2017 Monday Martin Luther King Jr Day Closed
02/20/2017 Monday President's Day Closed
05/29/2017 Monday Memorial Day Closed
07/04/2017 Tuesday Independence Day Closed
08/14/2017 Monday Victory Day Closed
09/04/2017 Monday Labor Day Closed
10/09/2017 Monday Columbus Day Closed
11/10/2017 Friday Veteran's Day (Observed) Closed
11/23/2017 Thursday Thanksgiving Day Closed
11/24/2017 Friday Day After Thanksgiving Closed
12/25/2017 Monday Christmas Day Closed
01/01/2018 Monday New Year's Day Closed